ART: Tripp by Alex Stewart

Alex Stewart is a photographer and filmmaker based in Cardiff. More of his work can be found at alexstewart.co or on his instagram: @thatalexstewart.


I first met Tripp through a mutual friend in New York. He was introduced to me as ‘the happiest guy in New York’, and it didn’t take me long to realise why. He greeted me in his studio with a beer and a bearhug and we sat and listened to a children’s choir’s cover of ‘Creep’ by Radiohead – before he jumped up and decided we should do a photoshoot. When he painted he did so with a fervour which I’ve never seen before, and that’s what I wanted to capture with these photos: the mixture of devotion, bliss and playfulness which is what makes Tripp’s work stand out from amongst the crowd. You can find some of Tripp’s work at trippart.com.

IMG_3446.JPG

IMG_3387.JPG

IMG_3475.JPG

 

